Friday, September 11, 2020

Back To School Reading New Releases with Phoebe of Read & Wright

Over this past weekend when I felt like I got the slightest glimpse of fall temperatures I started cleaning our back deck with the hopes that I can start using it again soon. After getting to use it so much in the spring due to working from home I am eager to get back out there optimistically with a blanket in tow to relax with a good book, and today Phoebe has plenty of awesome recommendations for us all! 

top // jeans

While this might be the weirdest “Back to School” season we’ve ever had, life is still moving forward. It’s a great reminder to see! While I’m looking forward to cooler temps and Fall decor, I am still sad to see Summer go. I dubbed this the Summer of Slowing Down, and after getting through the difficulty of postponing our wedding (thanks, Covid), I really embraced having no plans. I read a lot by the pool and on the beach whenever I could! 

But, thankfully, some new book releases are easing the pain of saying goodbye to another season. They have me counting the days until it is officially Autumn! The Fall is the last big drop of new books just in time for all the “Best of” lists and the holiday rush. September has some great books to keep your eye on!


Literary/Contemporary Fiction


Anxious People by Fredrik Backman


There is no one like Backman! I loved Beartown and Us Against You, but I wasn’t crazy about A Man Called Ove. I’m excited to see where this one falls in my line up! 


One Sentence Synopsis: Eight strangers with a lifetime of grievances and anxieties between them are forced together after an open house turns into a robbery gone wrong. 


The Unraveling of Cassidy Holmes by Elissa R. Sloan


If you like Daisy Jones and the Six, this book has a very similar vibe! 


One Sentence Synopsis: A unique and intimate look at the life and price of fame when the former member of the biggest girl group of the early 2000’s died by suicide. 


Thrillers 


When No One Is Watching by Alyssa Cole 


I am so excited for Alyssa Cole’s latest thriller because it checks all the boxes for creepy Fall vibes while also sharing some of the deeply problematic realities of gentrification. 


One Sentence Synopsis: Sydney is Brooklyn born and bred, but her beloved neighborhood is beginning to change quickly in this Rear Window meets Get Out-esque thriller. 


Romance


Loathe At First Sight by Suzanne Park


I always love an enemies to lovers romance! This debut novel is perfect for fans of Jasmine’s Guillory’s books. 


One Sentence Synopsis: When Melody, a video game producer, is faced with a massive online troll attack that almost ruins her life, she finds herself getting closer and closer to the person she hated the most. 



You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria 


This is another enemy to lovers romance that I LOVED this summer. It’s super-steamy so if open door romance scenes are not your thing, maybe skip this one. But I flew through it and loved it! 


One Sentence Synopsis: After a massive public break up with a rockstar, actress Jasmine Lin is ready to swear off men and focus on her Leading Lady plan until her newest co-star presents a larger challenge. 


Some new sequels, if series are your thing! 


American Royals II: Majesty by Katharine McGee


The sequel to American Royals about the fictional America that is governed by a monarchy, the House of Washington, instead of the democracy we know today. It’s Gossip Girl meets The Crown meets The West Wing. I loved the second one even more than the first! 


Blood and Honey by Shelby Maruhin 


The sequel to Serpent & Dove for all my YA Fantasy lovers! 


Dear Justyce by Nic Stone


If you haven’t read Dear Martin by Nic Stone, I highly recommend adding it to your Fall reading. It is middle grade, so you can read it pretty quickly. It’s a very important book to read right now and Dear Justyce will be available September 29!


Well Played by Jen DeLuca 


If you’re a fan of Renaissance Fairs, or even if you’re not, you must read Well Met! It’s a fun contemporary romance, and its sequel, Well Played, is out September 22! 


What are your favorite book genres? I’d love to know so I can make sure to include them in other posts! You can always find more book recommendations over on my blog and Instagram. If you stop by, make sure to say hi! 


1 comment :

Blog Design by Get Polished