Thursday, August 29, 2019

The Best Books Released This Summer With Phoebe of Read & Wright

Remember how last week I had an exciting book post coming up? Well saying "I" may have been a bit of a stretch since I'm crossing "start a new book series on the blog" off of my 101 in 1001 list thanks to long time Prep In Your Step reader, Phoebe of Read & Wright! I am thrilled to have another person to talk about books with y'all (really us) and am already looking forward to the recommendations she comes up with for September. Since summer is beginning to wind down, Phoebe is covering the best books released this summer in today's post! 


I am SO excited to be guest posting on Prep in You Step today! I’ve been following Dorothy for years, so it’s kind of surreal to be sharing my words here today. How did you all find Dorothy? I found her blog through a link-up many moons ago, called Blogger Breakfast in Bed. I’d read a lot of blogs by that point, but definitely felt a connection to Dorothy. From our preppy and classic styles to our love of Christmas (my birthday is four days after Dorothy’s!) to our love of reading, I definitely felt a kinship with her. 


Photo Credit: Noelle Fair Photography


Our love of reading is why I’m here today! Over on my blog, Read & Wright, I share book reviews of upcoming releases and a little bit of my life through books! I read a little bit of everything, so I hope this list can help you find your next favorite book. This was a fantastic summer for books, so I’m rounding up the best books that were released that you can still read all year round! 

Light Fiction 

Summer of ‘69 by Elin Hilderbrand:
I LOVE Elin Hilderbrand. Growing up in New England, I’m particularly fond of her books as they all take place on Nantucket. This is one of her best, in my opinion.

One Sentence Synopsis: In the summer of 1969, the country and the Foley-Levin family are in turmoil; war, love, infidelity, and heartbreak surround this blended family as they try to navigate the changing landscape on both a large and small scale. 

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren: 
This was one of my favorites of the summer! It’s a great palate cleanser of a book. If you’ve been reading some heavier topics lately or just need an escape, this is a great one to dive into. A perfect hate-to-love romance that isn’t cheesy or overly steamy. I’m not a fan of fall over your feet romance; I like a believable and relatable storyline. The characters in this one were so fun and I just really enjoyed it! 

One Sentence Synopsis: When an entire wedding is taken out with food poisoning, with the exception of the Maid of Honor (sister of the bride) and Best Man (brother of the groom), Olive and Ethan are the only ones left standing and are tasked with going on the non-refundable honeymoon--even though they can’t stand each other. 

That’s What Frenemies Are For by Sophie Littlefield:
If you love Gossip Girl or the Real Housewives of New York City, I think you’ll definitely enjoy this one. 

Three Sentence Synopsis: Julia is stuck in the city this summer while all her friends head out to the Hamptons, leaving her socially isolated and working out her next scheme to stay on top of the Upper East Side totem pole; enter Flame, a boutique cycling studio where Julia meets her new mentee, Tatum. But Tatum may not be as innocent as she seems, and suddenly Julia is faced with the decision to fall from grace or compromise herself to keep up. 

Montauk by Nicola Harrison: 
For fans of a slower, quieter book. I live in NYC and have been out to Montauk many times so that connection drew me to this story! It’s very cinematic in its writing and has some colorful characters. It’s also a lovely period piece, taking place in 1938. 

One Sentence Synopsis: Beatrice Bordeaux feels like a fraud in the life of luxury she married into; her husband has set them up in Montauk for the summer season, leaving her endless days to get to know the local people and landscape a little too well. 

The Islanders by Meg Mitchell Moore:
Like Elin Hilderbrand’s books, The Islanders is another great beach read that takes place in New England, this time Rhode Island. I found this one to be totally fun, with a little mystery to it. Mystery lite, if you will. One of the characters is a food blogger, and the descriptions of the food made my mouth water!

One Sentence Synopsis: One summer, three people running away from their pasts, and the threat of a storm on a small island off the coast of Rhode Island. 

Heavier Fiction

Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane: 
This is definitely going to be one of my favorite books of the year! I simply loved it. It’s a great family drama that spans over 40 years. It deals with a lot of issues families handle quietly, like alcoholism and mental illness. There are some shocking moments and some simple, touching moments. I really enjoyed it. 

One Sentence Synopsis: Two families, one story of the fragility of happiness and the aftermath of unexpected violence. 

Recursion by Blake Crouch: 
This was a book TOTALLY out of my comfort zone, and I am so.glad. I read it! It’s a wild ride, but the writing is just incredible. If you read or saw Dark Matter, this is by the same author! I think I may need to try reading it now! 

One Sentence Synopsis: A new memory disorder is plaguing the nation, causing people to have false memories so strong, they cannot tell what’s real. 

Mrs. Everything by Jennifer Weiner:
I think this book is so completely important! It’s definitely heavy and deals with heavy topics, but it’s worth it. This was a book I didn’t want to rush! It’s another one that covers multiple decades and time periods, so it’s a fun passage through time! 

One Sentence Synopsis: Two sisters navigate the trials and tribulations of adolescence, adulthood, and womanhood through the changing landscape of America. 

The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead: 
If you read The Underground Railroad and loved it along with the rest of the nation, Colson Whitehead’s latest book is for you. I’ll be waiting patiently for my copy to return to me because this is one I want to hold onto forever! 

One Sentence Synopsis: Based on the true story of Florida’s Dozier School for Boys, The Nickel Boys is a deeply moving and powerful story of segregation and secrecy in America. 

Thrillers:
In total transparency, I haven’t read any of these! But I know Dorothy loves a good thriller, so I wanted to include them anyway :) 

The Whisper Man by Alex North: 
This one sounds terrifying but also intriguing. I actually added it to be library holds, and hopefully, when it comes in, I’ll be brave enough for it!  

Synopsis from the publisher: “In this dark, suspenseful thriller, Alex North weaves a multi-generational tale of a father and son caught in the crosshairs of an investigation to catch a serial killer preying on a small town.”

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager:
Synopsis from the publisher: “The next heart-pounding thriller from New York Timesbestselling author Riley Sager follows a young woman whose new job apartment sitting in one of New York’s oldest and most glamorous buildings may cost more than it pays.” 

Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware: 
For fans of The Women in Cabin 10, Ruth Ware is BACK! 
Synopsis from the Publisher: “When she stumbles across the ad, she’s looking for something else completely. But it seems like too good an opportunity to miss—a live-in nannying post, with a staggeringly generous salary. And when Rowan Caine arrives at Heatherbrae House, she is smitten—by the luxurious “smart” home fitted out with all modern conveniences, by the beautiful Scottish Highlands, and by this picture-perfect family.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s stepping into a nightmare—one that will end with a child dead and herself in prison awaiting trial for murder.” 

Memoirs/Non-Fiction 

Three Women by Lisa Taddeo: 
This is a heavy one, but an important one. I had mixed feelings when I first finished it. Fair warning, it does have a graphic description of sexual relations and contains violence against women, so please read with caution! 

One Sentence Synopsis: Lisa Taddeo spent eight years interviewing and spending time with three women, learning their stories; it is an intimate and often difficult story of the perception of female desire. 

Naturally Tan by Tan France: 
If you love Queer Eye, here’s the next Fab Five memoir! Karamo’s came out earlier this year, and Jonathan’s is due out in September, but until then, there’s plenty of time to enjoy Tan’s! 

One Sentence Synopsis: Growing up in a conservative Pakistani family in England, Tan France had to learn how to create a personal style all his own--when it came to his clothes and his attitude.

Phew, still with me?! I love nothing more than helping someone find a new book to fall in love with. There’s something magical about falling into a completely individual story, don’t you think? Soak up the remainder of summer with one of these reads over Labor Day Weekend! 

Don't forget to follow Phoebe's bloginstagram, and Goodreadsaccounts! 

4 comments :

  1. I love that you give a range of genres! Thanks for the recommendations! ❤️✨

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. These sound so great! Adding some to my Goodreads list!

    xoxo A
    www.southernbelleintraining.com

    ReplyDelete

  3. I am glad that I spent time reading your post. This is the first time I visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. Any students need accounting assignment help and you don’t know how to get the right and high-quality assignment Help then contact our expert team we have providing best assignment help you can also visit our website MyAssignmentHelpAu

    ReplyDelete

Blog Design by Get Polished