Tuesday, April 21, 2020

#StepUpYourReading April New Releases with Read and Wright

Alright, raise your hand if you are craving FUN reads this month because I sure am! The great thing about the Spring is that all the fun summer reads and great mysteries and thrillers start to come out. While we may be stuck at home, we can still make a fun drink and head out to our patios, balconies, decks, or porches and soak up some Vitamin D with a good book. These are some that are on my radar for April that I hope you’ll enjoy too! 


A Tender Thing by Emily Neuberger—Historical Fiction. 
A debut novel set in 1950s New York, right in the middle of the Golden Age of Broadway. A young Midwestern girl leaves her hometown for the bright lights of Broadway and is thrown into a leading role in a controversial new musical. It is a story of love, legacy, and art through the challenges of race and change. 

The Roxy Letters by Mary Pauline Lowry
Meet Roxy. She’s a sometimes vegan, always broke artist with a heart the size of Texas and an ex living in her spare bedroom. Her life is messy, but with the help of a few good friends and by the grace of the goddess Venus she’ll discover that good sex, true love, and her life’s purpose are all closer than she realizes.

Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington
Teens waging a war of practical jokes declare peace when they fall for one another in this charming YA romantic comedy. Lakehouse and summer, sign me up! The cover alone is swoon-worthy. 

Unscripted by Nicole Kronzer
A funny and timely debut YA about the toxic masculinity at a famous improv comedy camp. This one couldn’t be more right up my alley! A girl who wants to be on SNL at improv camp fighting off the toxic masculinity of comedy? Sign me up! 

The Perfect Escape by Suzanne Park
“Love is a battlefield in this hysterically funny rom-com debut, perfect for fans of Jenny Han.
Nate Jae-Woo Kim wants to be rich. When one of his classmates offers Nate a ridiculous amount of money to commit grade fraud, he knows that taking the windfall would help support his prideful Korean family, but is compromising his integrity worth it?

Luck comes in the form of Kate Anderson, Nate’s colleague at the zombie-themed escape room where he works. She approaches Nate with a plan: a local tech company is hosting a weekend-long survivalist competition with a huge cash prize. It could solve all of Nate’s problems, and she needs the money too.

If the two of them team up, Nate has a real shot of winning the grand prize. But the real challenge? Making through the weekend with his heart intact…”


I hope you pick some of these new light reads up and find some joy in them! My favorite reads recently have been fantasy, believe it or not! If you follow me on Instagram (@readandwright), you’ll know I’ve been OBSESSED with the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas. They’re not light, but they sweep you away into a fantasy realm that is a joy to escape into. It’s a loose Beauty and the Beast retelling that is sort of Game of Thrones meets Twilight meets The Hunger Games. I love them! 

You can always check out more reviews, recommendations, and features on my blog www.readandwright.com and I’m still being silly on Instagram. Let me know what books you’d like to see next! Thrillers? Memoirs? I’m all ears! 


1 comment :

Blog Design by Get Polished